Winnipeg gets the better of Saskatoon

By Jamie Harkins

November 2, 2017 10:09 AM

Reid Carruthers attempts to outduel Steve Laycock at the Masters. JAMIE HARKINS LLS PHOTO

Manitoba toppled Saskatchewan for Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling (GSOC) prairie bragging rights.
Winnipeg’s Reid Carruthers blew past Saskatoon’s Steve Laycock 9-3 in Draw 10 of the GSOC Masters event at the Centennial Civic Centre last Thursday.
Skip Carruthers and his gang of third Braeden Moskowy, second Derek Samagalski and lead Colin Hodgson, took control of the action off the first thrown stone resulting in a steal of two by the conclusion of the opening end.
“We figured if I made a good one with my last one in the first end that Steve would have a pressure-filled draw against three in a fresh spot,” said Carruthers, whose team moved to 3-1 with the win. “So, lucky for us we got a good break and he missed.”
Laycock (1-2) hit an open draw to the middle ring on his final shot to halve the score in the second end.
Carruthers replied back in the third with an aggressive push to the rings for the 5-1 lead.
“He had a double to count us down to two, but he threw it a little bit wide and it didn’t curl quite enough,” he said.
“So, he jammed it and left me an open look for three. It was one of those frustrating ones for a skip.”
Laycock’s team of third Kirk Muyres, second Matt Dunstone and lead Dallan Muyres cut into the lead with a single in the fourth only to give up a deuce in the fifth.
The Saskatchewan skip hit and stuck on his last to bring the score to 7-3 in the sixth end, giving Carruthers the hammer in the seventh.
“As long as you’re holding them to one when you don’t have the hammer, it’s always a great situation,” said Carruthers. “We were hoping for that and it worked out.”
Masters day three notes: The number of undefeated teams fell behind those that are winless through three and four games of play. Niklas Edin, Brad Gushue, Brad Jacobs, Kevin Koe, Jennifer Jones and Kerri Einarson all sit at 3-0, while John Epping, John Morris, Pat Simmons, Val Sweeting, Allison Flaxey, Jacqueline Harrison and Sherry Middaugh look at 0-3 records. Reid Carruthers, Eve Muirhead, Alina Paetz and Casey Scheidegger have claimed a playoff spot with 3-1 marks. Thomas Ulsrud, Anna Hasselborg, Silvana Tirinzoni and Anna Sidorova sit on the bubble with 2-1 records. Jason Gunnlaugson has a shot at 2-2, while Mike McEwen, Kyle Smith, Peter De Cruz, Steve Laycock, John Shuster, Rachel Homan, Michelle Englot and Jamie Sinclair are looking in with 1-2 marks.

More News

Golden Gloves

The Lloydminster mosquito AA Twins, with back row from left, Chad Oborowsky, John Spence, Mike Hill, Shawn Hines, Jamie Walker; middle row, Ryan Oborowsky, Ethan Neufeld, Scottie Lumbard, Cole Hines,… more »

Bobcats set to hit the ice

The Bobcats will host the reigning AJHL champion Spruce Grove Saints at the Centennial Civic Centre on Sept. 15. The contest will follow a seven-game exhibition schedule stretching back to Aug. 28 as… more »

Sonics honoured by Athletics Alberta

Abby Kirsch, who will be entering Grade 9 at E.S. Laird Middle School in September, received a top 10 award for bantam females for her steady rise in the sport of long-distance running during the Alberta… more »

more »